SHIVLING (6550 m.)

Mt. Shivling is among the most stunning peaks of the Garwhal region. It rises as a sheer single pyramid above the snout of the Gangotri Glacier when seen from Gaumukh. But it is actually a twin-summit mountain, with the northeast summit being slightly higher than the southwest summit (6,501 m.). Between Gaumukh and Shivling lies the Tapovan meadow, a popular pilgrimage site due to its inspiring view of the mountain. Since the first ascent, at least ten other routes have been climbed on the peak, ascending all major ridges and most major faces of the mountain. All routes are extremely technical climbs.

Day 1 – Mussoorie (2200 m.) to Uttarkashi (1352 m.)  
7- 8 hrs. drive to Uttarkashi. Overnight in hotel / guest house.

Day 2 – Uttarkashi to Gangotri ( 3293 m.)  
7- 8 hrs. drive to Gangotri. Overnight at camp.

Day 4 – Gangotri to Bhojbasa (3775 m.)  
7 hrs.  trek. Overnight at camp.

Day 5 – Bhojbasa to Gaumukh (4000 m.)  
5 hrs. trek. Overnight at camp.

Day 6 – Gaumukh to Tapovan (4350 m. )  
6 hrs. trek. Overnight at camp.

Day 7 – Rest and Acclimatization. Overnight at camp.

Day 8 – Climb to Advance Base Camp. Overnight at camp.

Day 9 –  Climbing the Peak depends on the weather and route conditions. It can take one or more weeks.

Day 15 – Trek to Gaumukh. Overnight at camp.

Day 16 – Trek to Bhojbasa. Overnight at camp.

Day 17 – Trek to Gangotri. Overnight at camp.

Day 18 – Drive to Uttarkashi. Overnight at goesthouse / hotel.

Day 19 – Drive to Mussoorie. Overnight at guesthouse / hotel.


  • Grade: Major Mountain Expedition
  • Best Time: June to August
  • Nearest Airport: Dehradun

Share this: